Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
Discuss, debate and exchange opinions on issues that are of a serious nature.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Showers with Pull Switches

Showers with Pull Switches 1 month 1 week ago #3580221

• Rain
  • Rain's Avatar Topic Author
  • Away
  • Junior Buzzer
  • Junior Buzzer
  • Well said received: 132
  • Honor Medal 2010
I'm not an electrician but I have had two experiences now with a possible danger concerning showers with pull switches.

Three years ago I smelled a very weird smell while my electric shower was running. I'd describe it as a musty / fishy / sharp / unpleasant smell that comes on suddenly.

I guessed something might be wrong with the shower. When the electrician came and showed me the inside of the switch I was shocked, It was all burned inside and apparently this can be dangerous as the electricity can arc.

We had the switch replaced and were told that as showers become more modern and more powerful, the load is greater and that this overheating in the switch is common. You have to be careful how you pull the cord. Be positive but gentle.

This week I smelled the smell again, very suddenly but not quite as bad. This time the damage to the switch was very slight when the electrician opened it, but the same trouble had begun.

If you look at my photo, the blackening at the end of the screw indicates the problem.

I am writing this post to alert anyone who smells this odour from their shower to get an electrician to look at it right away.

Personally I think the pull switch is a bad design but many of us are stuck with them.

I was told the odour is created deliberately to alert people to problems.

So don't ignore a fishy smell from your shower and consult an electrician immediately.

Attachments:

Please Log in to join the conversation.

Showers with Pull Switches 1 month 1 week ago #3580237

• sciguy18
  • Platinum Buzzer
  • Platinum Buzzer
  • Well said received: 952
  • Honor Medal 2010